29 Apr - Grass Autocross

Description: 29 Apr - Grass Autocross

Date: 29/04/2018

Our second autocross for 2018 will be at the same grass paddock as our last autocross in Okuku. It's a nice, big paddock. Thanks to Wayne Summerfield for letting us use it. Last time it was Mike Pentecost (Mini) who took out 1st place overall in the slippery, muddy conditions under consistent light rain. Who will win this time?

Find us on Facebook

For the latest news and regular updates check out our Facebook page.


Location: 318 Birch Hill Road Okuku, big flat grass paddock. 

Directions: From Rangiora head north over Ashley river bridge and stay on Loburn/Whiterock road for 6.3kms, then turn left into Hodgsons Rd, continue on this road for 8.4 kms and the venue will be signposted on your right.

Documentation 9am.

Reminder for Autocross events:

  • Enter on the day, only $30 per driver.
  • Anybody is welcome to join in (you don't need to be a club member).
  • Autosport Club rules for Autocross can be found in section 3 of our Club Championship Articles
  • It's incredibly cheap fun and great way to becoming a better driver on the road.
  • Bring your mates and find out who is the true, fastest driver among you.
  • Car must meet Schedule A of the Motorsport NZ Manual or be up to WOF standard. Often small road cars are hard to beat!
  • You must have 100% cotton or approved flame proof overalls according to Schedule A of the Motorsport NZ Manual.
  • You must have a helmet indicating it meets an approved standard. Read what that means in Schedule A of the Motorsport NZ Manual



Mike Pentecost skillfully carving the mud in his Mini on his was to 1st overall at the 11 Feb 2018 Grass Autocross, well done. Photos thanks to Kevin Corin Photography.






11 Feb Winners Class 1 0-1300cc Daniel Males (Mini), Winner Class 2 1301- 1600cc Ari Pettigrew (Corolla)






11 Feb Winners Class 3 1601+cc Andrew Sim (Fiesta), Winner Class 4 4WD Lawrence Best (Impreza WRX) 






11 Feb Winners Class 5 Road Car Kris Celeste (Caldina), Winning Timing Crew Sarah Brennan, Malcolm Read and Graham Wilson.